F.A.Q.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is this course for getting my Ohio Driver’s License?

Yes, this course satisfies the 24-hour classroom instruction requirement to obtain a Driver Education Certificate, which is needed for an Ohio Driver’s License.

Does this course expire?

Yes, you have 180 days to complete the course after registering before it expires. If you do not complete this course in 180 days you will need to re-purchase it and re-take the entire course.

Is this the only thing I need for an Ohio driver’s license?

No, you also need to complete 8 hours of driver training with a certified instructor and 50 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a parent/guardian (including at least 10 hours at night). Don’t worry though, we’ll walk you through everything in the course!

When will I receive my Certificate of Completion?

You will receive your official Certificate of Completion via email within 3 business days after finishing the driver’s ed course.

Can I complete the 50-hour driving practice requirement with a sibling or family member?

Yes, if your sibling is over 21 years of age and has a license, you can practice driving with them.

Can I get my license after completing the course and all the driving requirements?

Yes, but you will also need to meet some other requirements. In addition to the training and practice requirements, you must also pass a vision exam, written exam, and a two-part road test at a Driver Exam Station of the Ohio BMV to apply for your Ohio driver’s license. You will also need to have held your learner permit (TIPIC) for at least 6 months, and turned 16 years old.

Should I make an appointment for the road test at an Ohio BMV?

It is recommended to make an appointment to avoid long wait times. You can schedule an appointment on the Ohio BMV website. You can also skip the lines at the BMV by doing the road test with a BMV authorized driving school.

How does the Ohio BMV verify my completion of the 50 hours of driving practice?

The adult overseeing your driving practice must fill out a Fifty Hour Affidavit. Falsifying this document is illegal and can result in fines or jail time. It is important to practice responsibly and not falsify your driving practice time.

Can I drive my friends around once I have my license?

If you are 16 years old, you can only drive with one person under 21 years old who is not a family member. Once you turn 17, this restriction no longer applies.

Will I have any restrictions when I get my license?

Yes, 16 and 17-year-olds in Ohio receive probationary licenses, which come with certain restrictions. For example, If you are 16 years old, you cannot drive between 12:00 am and 6:00 am unless accompanied by an adult. If you are 17 years old, you cannot drive between 1:00 am and 5:00 am unless accompanied by an adult or if you are driving to/from school or work.

Who is considered a “family member” that can be in the car with me?

Family members in Ohio include parents, siblings, grandparents, aunts, uncles, in-laws, step-parents, step-siblings, half-siblings, spouse, child, and step-child.

Driver's education can be confusing and hard to navigate!

Feel free to contact us if you have any questions about how to obtain a driver’s permit/license, where to get driving lessons, or with anything driver’s ed. related…

If it’s related to driver’s education, we will probably have the answers you need. Just shoot us an email, give us a call, or message us online and we will do everything we can to get you on the road!